My Thanks to the National Park System

Great Smoky Mountains

Great Smoky Mountains

I have been taking in the magnificence of the mini-series “The National Parks: America’s Best Idea” via Netflix.  It has inspired me to be thankful for the wonderful places I have seen and the great experiences I have had.  I am thankful for John Muir, who pioneered the idea of conservation in his eloquent, descriptive writings and helped to form Theodore Roosevelt’s opinion on protecting the country’s gems.  I am very thankful to my family and my step-father, who passed away this summer, for roadtripping with me to these magnificent spectacles as a young boy, and for instilling in me the fire to explore and seek out natural settings today.

Our gems require protection.  Our past ecological mistakes require restoration!

I have visited:

Jewel Cave National Park    SD    Cave bacon!

Wind Cave National Park    SD    Boxwork!

Mount Rushmore National Monument    SD    Great Faces!

Rocky Mountain National Park    CO    Rocky.

Mammoth Cave National Park    KY    Huge, beautiful cave.

Carlsbad Caverns National Park    NM    Windy in New Mexico, beautiful cave

Great Sand Dunes National Park    CO     Very diverse area.

Yellowstone National Park    WY, MT, ID    Just awesome!

Devil’s Tower National Monument    WY    A giant bear totally didn’t claw the side of a mountain.

Grand Teton National Park    WY   Beautiful

Craters of the Moon National Monument    ID    Beyond this world cool!

Dinosaur National Monument    CO    I made it out alive.

Bryce Canyon National Park    UT    Gorgeous in the snow

Zion National Park    UT    Ditto

Grand Canyon National Park    AZ    Definitely grand

Petrified Forest National Park    AZ    …and lots of petroglyphs!

Death Valley National Park    CA    Try it in February!

Yosemite National Park    CA    Thank you, John Muir.

Mt. Rainier National Park    WA    Stunning in the snow.

Glacier National Park    MT    See ’em before they melt!

Wrangell St. Elias National Park    AK    This is wilderness.

Kenai Fjords National Park    AK    Blue glaciers.

Denali National Park    AK    Unspoiled, Mt. McKinley is quite a sight.

Great Smoky Mountains National Park  TN, NC    Relax and enjoy it.

Great Smokies

Great Smokies

 

Do you have some favorite places in the National Park System??

2 thoughts on “My Thanks to the National Park System

  1. I like your one-line comments for each of the parks… It would be cool to make an exhaustive list of parks and twitterable summaries…. Now I’m intrigued to look at parks I’ve never heard of before, like Dinosaur National Monument

What do you think?

