A Call for Candelabra LED Lighting

I’ve recently moved into a place with several ceiling fans.  I think ceiling fans are fantastic for air circulation and important for reducing the need for constant air conditioning.

But now I have a problem with the lighting situation.  In many rooms, these fans also serve as the primary light source.  Unfortunately, all of my fixtures can only use candelabra style bulbs.  What about my cool LEDs?

WHY?  Why can’t I put in my medium-base LED lights into these fixtures in the name of energy conservation?  It turns out Uncle Sam has changed lighting regulations for ceiling fans in an effort to conserve energy (See the Reg Info).  Not all medium-base fixtures are technically banned, but manufacturers are exploiting a loophole by switching to an almost completely candelabra-based ceiling fan market  (See the point of contention).

Short-Lived Compact Fluorescent Candelabra

I understand these regulations were changed for the greater good, but what good are they if they stifle innovation in energy efficient lighting  (i.e., LED technology)?  I’ve posted about LED lighting before (Bright Future in LED Lighting), and the technology is here and improving dramatically.  There are several options out there for several fixtures, including candelabras.  However, most R&D has been devoted to medium-based bulbs (Edison Bulbs, E26 / E27).  These efficient bulbs could easily work with the Wattage restrictions if the medium-base fixtures were reintroduced  en masse.

Please let me know if you’ve found a candelabra that puts out adequate light (at least ‘equivalent’ to a 45 W incandescent).  I have yet to find suitable LEDs or even CFL candelabras that work.  And the few CFL candelabras bright enough for my applications generally have much shorter life spans than would be expected.

Anyway, enough of the fist shakery.  I simply want to enlighten anyone in the LED lighting industry that there is a niche that desperately needs to be filled!

3 thoughts on “A Call for Candelabra LED Lighting

  1. There are a couple options. I work as chief engineer at a resort and a couple years ago I had changed all bulbs to CFL which brought 60 and 75 w use doen to 18 or 14 w. Now that the LED color spectrum has evolved I have started slowly putting these in some locations and dropping to 4 or 7 w use. For your medium base bulb a simple adapters are available that screw on to the base changing to candelabra size. They are also available just as bulbs either in torpedo shape or the traditional flame tip. CFL and LED are choices. Try Home Depot or I use HD Supply which is Home Depots large commercial catalog. The adapter is cheap – a few bucks for a 4 pack.

  2. Pingback: Bright Future in LED Lighting « stewardsofearth

  3. Pingback: Obsolescence of Edison « stewardsofearth

What do you think?

