No magic bullet to improving fuel economy, but lots of little tricks can add up and save you $$.

stewardsofearth

(http://www.slideshare.net/themarkofpolo/ecodriving-for-college-students) (no audio)

I gave this presentation to fellow college students during an Earth Day event. I’ve followed the advice and example of several folks at ecomodder.com, who have taught me how to improve my fuel economy in my 2007 Pontiac Vibe.

I am able to do so by first, “Adjusting the nut behind the wheel,” by simply changing my driving habits. I am much more patient, much more aware of my surroundings, and able to squeeze MPGs by coasting (in gear) as much as possible.

Next, I’ve added instrumentation to track my progress (ScanGauge). By knowing my average and instantaneous fuel economy readings, along with other information like coolant temp and intake air temp, I am able to adjust my driving style on the fly to garner more MPGs.

Finally, I’ve slightly modified my vehicle for greater efficiency.  See the presentation for more information on…

View original post 117 more words

What do you think?

